Spray Tanning Tips, Tricks and ...

Testimonials

See what our self-tanning Customers Think?
Join our tanning bronzer forces and let us hear your two cents. Sharing tanning tips and testimonials sparks creative ideas to get every tan perfect. If you read our loyal customer’s tanning reviews then there is a good chance you, too will want to try our spray tanning products! If you are one of those whose skin needs a boost of color, try SheerTan today!
tnblonde
May 22, 2012
thum

The Sheer Tan Sunless Tanning Wand is an awesome invention!

Back in the day (HS), I went tanning about 2 times a week. I’m a natural blonde, and now that my brother had melanoma, I figured it’s time to protect my skin, rather than fry it! I do go spray tanning here and there, but it’s SO EXPENSIVE! I’ve tried home tanners (banana boat, Jergens daily tanning lotion) which work, but get streaky after a few days. After looking at reviews, I decided to try the sheer tan wand.
The day I received the product, I exfoliated, dried off, and applied the spray. It took a little getting used to, holding the wand that is, but after I got the hang of it, it was a breeze. I put on some light Victoria’s secret lotion (it says to do that in the directions)I let it dry for about a 1/2 hour, then went to bed. Woke up in the morning with a nice color! I did notice that I missed a place on my back, so be sure to look in the mirror when applying it the back! I’ve had to re-apply to my face b/c I wash it a few times a day, but other than that, it’s lasted longer than I thought. (*When applying to your face, spray it in your hands then rub on your face. If you have blonde hair like me, it can become orange’ish if you don’t block the overspray. )

“BP” (Nashville, TN United States)
May 22, 2012
thum

I’ll make this short & sweet. I’ve tried them all (home & salon) and this is the best by far. Light, easy, barely smells. Try it and you’ll be thrilled! Two things I learned: 1) it can come off on your sheets if you apply it and don’t shower before sleeping and 2) wear ankle socks when applying to your legs and then remove socks when applying lotion and just spread the lotion down to the feet to get tan feet. I’ve already ordered the 6-pack refill!

Genevieve Mason
May 22, 2012
thum

“Army Wife, mommy to two boys… (Metro Detroit, MI) – I have only used this twice, but so far I really like it! I love the sprayer because it can get all those nooks and cranies really well that I sometimes miss (like the middle of my back). As a mother of a three year old and three month old, I like how fast it is to apply too. I don’t have time to spend 10-15 minutes putting on self tanner, making sure that I applied it all over evenly while there is a three year old running around. I also like that it dries fairly quickly. No more walking around the house lke a sumo wrestler waiting for the tanner to dry evenly. The color is pretty good too. I will definately buy more of the tanner, and I have already told my mom and sister about this!

Leah Nelson “Leah” (Texas)
May 22, 2012
thum

I bought this item and it works like a charm! The tanning spray is wonderful. The light mist goes on easier than the grocery-store tanners and the wand, though it takes a little getting used to, gets those hard-to-reach places. The reviewer who said that all the reviews are fake is wrong. This isn’t brain surgery! Just follow the directions and you’ll have a fantastic tan in about 8 hours. What I like best is that you don’t have to use the wand all over, just for those places that are difficult to get to. If you want just a touch-up on your legs, you can just use the sprayer. Also, the smell is fragrant and doesn’t make you smell like you’ve just been out jogging, like some tanners do.

Darci Weber “Graphic Designer” (Portland, OR)
May 22, 2012
thum

Every summer since I can remember, I’ve been self-conscious about my white legs – there was even taunting when I was in grade school, so my quest for the perfect self-tanning product to cover my porcelain pins began young. Over the years, I’ve used every type of sunless tanning product starting with that orangy Avon lotion in the early 1980s; I’ve utilized tanning booths and gave up after thirteen sessions and only a burn to show for it; and I’ve booth spray tanned and airbrush spray tanned with “professionals”, but how often do you want to shell out $50-$80 for four days of being tan? It gets really spendy, really fast.

And then I stumbled on SheerTan. I think the Gods of Sunless Tanning were smiling on me that day. SheerTan satisfied every qualification that I was looking for in a sunless tanner: it’s easy to apply, it lasts for three days before you need to shave your legs/exfoliate and reapply, and it gives me realistic colour. You also get MANY applications with SheerTan. Only using the product on my full legs, I get 15 applications out of one can. That’s less than $1 per application! To me, it would be a bargain at twice the price.

If I can pass along a tip, one thing I learned early on is that using a thick, emollient body lotion to apply the product only helps you “rub it off” instead of “rubbing it in”. I’m a fan of Bath & BodyWorks’ Coconut Lime Verbena Body Lotion (not Body Cream)- it smells like a Hawaiian vacation. Yummo!
Bath & Body Works Pleasures Coconut Lime Verbena Body Lotion, 8 fl. oz. (236 ml)

To wrap up this review, if you’re looking for a natural tan that’s affordable, easy to apply, gives consistent colour and will fool your friends, just buy SheerTan. You won’t be disappointed. I know I’m glad my quest for the perfect self tanning product is over.

Love the color, love the ease, smart design

Anne (Addison, TX)
May 22, 2012
thum

There are gobs of spray tans in the stores today so it’s a job just to try them all. I have tried many including this one and I have to say, this is the one for me. The wand is easy, it dries super quick and with the appliction instructions, the color turns out perfect every time. The only reason I can see of any orange color is using the wrong moisturizer in combination with the spray.

Many of the ones I have used in the past have streaked and I just couldn’t get them even. This one is the best do-it-yourself tanning spray I’ve tried in a long time. I don’t like it but I need to cut back so with sheer tan cost savings (because I used to go to Mystic) I derive a certain pleasure from doing it myself and feel like it’s just the right thing for me.

Forever a Fan of SheerTan!

Tama (LA, CA)
May 22, 2012
thum

I received this as a gift from a friend. I am extremely fair and avoid the sun at all costs (cover ups and sunscreen) due to burning and freckling and of course the long term effects of wrinkling and skin cancer. I do prefer the look of tanned skin, especially in the summer. I must admit that I was skeptical until I tried the product. I was very careful to spray lightly and evenly. This product smelled fine. I applied the lotion and then went to bed. I woke up and was pleasantly surprised to find a slight tan. I did have one small patch of orange on my palm where I didn’t wash well enough but obviously that’s my error and not the fault of the product. Overall a great product which I will recommend to friends.

A. Ratto
May 22, 2012
thum

Let me say that I put the first layer on somewhat cautiously, and followed their instructions. I waited about 5 hours and I felt like I could see just a slight change, but really not too much going on. I decided to apply a second coat and hope that it would do something.

Next morning… wow was I tan. In retrospect, I wish I had waited out the night for the first coat, because I think it would have looked amazing and not too “wow you’re suddenly dark.” Also, in the 1 or 2 of the spots where I got lazy and didn’t apply the lotion (back of right ankle) I can see the streakiness but everywhere else looks really amazing.

The other thing I did was apply a thick, cream moisturizer to my palms and fingernails from the beginning. I wish I had done this to my feet as well, because my hands look fine, but the toenails/feet bottoms are a bit yellow and frightening.

So, bottom line, follow the instructions because they are really good. And be a little patient for it to develop.

The tanning spray is an ultra fine mist that goes on evenly and turns to a wonderful brown color. I love that the after tanning smell is very faint :-).

Maggie A. Miguel “Funny Rockstar” (Los Angeles, CA USA)
May 22, 2012
thum

I hate spending time in the sun because I don’t want wrinkles or skin cancer. My friends make fun of me because I’m so white. Truly, because of the wand, I’m able to reach down my back which is so great cuz I don’t need help from anyone, and with the evenness of the spray, getting a tan is super easy. I really love it. And because I’m so white, and I don’t have any kind of base tan, what’s cool about SheerTan is it doesn’t make me look orangy or fake. It really looks like I have a nice glow. I’m so excited by this product that I already bought it for my sister as a gift for the summer.

Makemeup “gail” (Texas)
May 22, 2012
thum

I have tried everything on the market from FakeBake, St.Tropaz, jergens, copperton, xentan, you name it! I put this on and did NOT think it would work. It took hours to develop (as the directions said) but then BOOM…I get this natural looking tan. I am 43 and my husband said I look 25 WOW! It really gets every area you need to get and without the embarrassment of having to have someone see you bare! If you want a super dark tan, then one application will not do it. But if you want an even, natural looking tan, this is it!!! Make sure to apply the lotion afterwards, and do it with good ventilation. I wore a mask because the fumes were a little strong. Excellent product!!!